Happy New Year!

As the first week and a half of the school year is now behind us, I took a moment to pause and reflect.  For those of us with children of our own and for those of us that work in the school system, September has always seemed like the real start to the new year.  It is a fresh start…..and it seems like anything is possible.

At the start of this school year I was reminded that I am blessed to work with a truly phenomenal staff.  We had a number of new students register this fall, as this is just our second year as a school of choice.  Among those, were a significant number of students whose needs are unique.  Now this in itself is not unusual, but the response of the adults in the school in which it is my role to lead was.  How do I know?  It was the comments that were made to me….the gratitude and relief in a parent’s voice when they told me how grateful they were for the reception their child received.  It was the extra hours I saw adults putting in, above and beyond the norm, in order to make sure everything was ready for each student.  It was the collaboration I saw amongst the learning support teacher team, in conjunction with classroom teachers and education assistants, in order to make sure that all students were supported.  It was the Teacher On Call that told me that she was almost moved to tears by the deep caring she witnessed from a fellow teacher, as that teacher interacted with students during an afternoon.

“Nelson Mandela once tellingly observed, ‘There can be no keener revelation of a society’s soul than, than the way in which it treats its children.  It is clear and proven that the number one factor that makes the greatest difference to children’s lives and children’s futures within our schools is the children’s teachers.’ ” (Hargreaves & Fullan. 2012. Professional Capital Transforming Teaching in Every School. p. 186)

I know that the students at my school are in good hands, and I look forward to another year of positive, life-enriching learning opportunities for both the students and the adults I am blessed to work with!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

